XR

 

Title of resource

Name, affiliation

contact

function

link

publications

DNA precipitation

 

Dino Spagnoli, UWA                                       

Dino.spagnoli@uwa.edu.au

AR showing structure of DNA                                                       fragments coming together

Coming soon

 

360 degree lab tour

Dino Spagnoli, UWA

Dino.spagnoli@uwa.edu.au

Tour from ground floor up into teaching labs

https://tinyurl.com/ybqpm3em

https://pubs.acs.org/doi/pdf/10.1021/acs.jchemed.8b00861

VR in chemistry classroom

Mihye Won, Curtin

Mihye.Won@curtin.edu.au

Visualising molecular world

Coming soon

https://news.curtin.edu.au/stories/reactive-realities-vr-in-the-chemistry-classroom/

Peppy

Gareth Denyer, The University of Sydney

gareth.denyer@sydney.edu.au

Virtual Reality (VR) simulation for exploring the molecular forces which drive protein secondary structure. Peppy allows users to build, visualise and manipulate polypeptides within the six degrees of freedom that characterises the VR environment.

https://sydney.edu.au/science/our-research/research-areas/life-and-environmental-sciences/peppy-vr.html

 

https://github.com/ddoak/peppy

https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/abs/10.1002/pro.3752

 

VR for teaching chemistry

Reyne Pullen and Stephen George-Williams, The University of Sydney

reyne.pullen@sydney.edu.au

 

stephen.george-williams@sydney.edu.au

We're interested in investigating the viability of VR as a teaching tool in both the chemistry classroom and teaching laboratory. This includes student-generated content, interactive VR experiences to supplement classroom activities, and guided VR tours to familiarise students with laboratory processes and techniques.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JvlLflEAHOA&feature=youtu.be

Coming soon

MoleculAR

Mark Coster, Organic Chemistry Explained & Andrew Pearson, Griffith University

mark@organicchemexplained.com

a.pearson@griffith.edu.au

Augmented reality allows us to view and interact with molecular representations in three dimensions. 

https://youtu.be/Eah3IsHMlUg

Free download on iOS and Android.